How to stay motivated no matter what happens in your life

Just recently I have experienced mixed feelings and thoughts. For one part I’m excited that I’ve been committed and working on my goals. I have a loving husband who supports me and cares about me deeply. I’m grateful that my parents and closed ones are healthy and happy. I love my job and the fact that I get to help and educate college students in what I love the most, fitness. My body is fit and healthy, and I’m in the prime of my life where I feel I can accomplish so many goals. I have so many reasons to be grateful, and every day I reflect on this. I’m happy to be working on my goals and dreams like working on my doctorate program and writing this blog. However, with my everyday activities, I’m always on a mission and doing things that I miss to think back and reflect. This causes me to question my actions and wonder of the way I’m doing all this. I question myself and feel confused. Can you relate to me? Have you ever thought and wonder why are you here or at your job? Why are you doing the things that you do? Is it anything else out there for you? Well, I’m here to tell you that yes, there is. There are three things I believe you should reflect on and question yourself whenever you have these thoughts:

  1. Purpose
  2. Impact
  3. Gratefulness

Purpose is the driven force for anything you would do in your life. Purpose is the reason you exist and do everything you do. It is related to others and giving back. For example, my purpose is to “educate, help, inspire, and motivate others to be fit, happy, healthy, and accomplish their dreams.” I know it is pretty long, but this is what I strongly believe and keeps me motivated through the highs and the lows. Every person has a purpose and a reason for being. It is crucial that you find yours. This will give direction to your life and actions and guide you when unsure or in moments of disappointment or despair. Questions you should ask include: why are you here? What drives you? What is the one thing you will do even if it is for free?

Impact relates to others and making a difference in people’s lives. Impact is giving back to others and helping them with your skills and qualities. It is providing a service to others. There is nothing more fulfilling than the feeling you have when you have helped or touched someone’s life in a positive way. I know you have experienced this before at some point in your life. If you feel like you are not making an impact right now in your life, you need to make changes and figure out a way to accomplish this. Think about sharing a skill you are good at like if you are an expert at playing the piano, maybe volunteer your time and teach others how to play it or teach private lessons?

Gratefulness reflects the appreciation you have for your current state of life. There is always something to be grateful about. Gratefulness is an amazing feeling and one that is imperative to have. There is just something about being grateful that causes other negative feelings to disappear. This means counting your blessings and just embracing what you currently have and acknowledging that you can change your current state of life if you truly desire. Here is an exercise, whenever you feel unmotivated or disappointed about your life, take out a piece of paper and just write down (don’t analyze) your top 10 things of why you are grateful in your life. Don’t stop until you have written these reasons. As I’m typing this, all of my previous thoughts of insecurity I had when I started writing this post have disappeared. This is another proof of how powerful this feeling is!!

I hope I have provided you with some insight and inspiration. Honestly, not until recently, I have been able to accept my purpose and acknowledge my desires to truly make an impact. This blog is a reflection of this. My sincere desire is to be able to help you in any way I can 😊

Group pic of our wedding 🙂 family and friends, so much to be grateful for!

Leave a comment